Starting April 21, adults 21 and older will be able to legally purchase cannabis and cannabis products without needing a medical card. This is a historic step in our work to create a new cannabis industry. More than 17 months after New Jerseyans voted to approve recreational cannabis for adults, legal sales begin Thursday. During that time between the ballot question and now, legislators and the governor.
Phil Murphy explained what is allowed and what is not, including possession of large quantities of marijuana and distributing relatively small quantities without a license. Still, there are several pending questions. Darren Gelber, secretary of the criminal law section of the New Jersey State Bar Association, said that, in general, those who plan to participate in cannabis should think about it as they would with alcohol. There are other questions left about the use and use of marijuana.
The law prohibits an employer from refusing to hire a person who uses legal marijuana, but using the drug while working could result in them being fired. Employers can test for drugs, but that could be problematic because traces of marijuana use can be detected on the body days or weeks after use. The Cannabis Regulatory Commission is responsible for developing a certification program to train people to detect cannabis use by an employee and assess their degree of disability. While these and other issues are being resolved, here is a summary of what the laws allow and prohibit.
For more information on safe cannabis use, visit the Cannabis Regulatory Commission website. Adult sales are scheduled to start in a couple of weeks, but inspections and fees are needed first. Yes, there are three dispensaries in New Jersey. Both Medical and Recreational Cannabis Are Now Legal in New Jersey.
You need a medical cannabis card to buy legal marijuana in New Jersey. The card is provided by the State of New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program. Before you begin the process of obtaining a medical card in New Jersey, you must visit a doctor in the Medical Marijuana Program and receive a referral to the program for your qualifying condition. Qualified patients may be recommended to enroll in the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (MMP).
Yes, all medical patients must complete New Jersey Compliance Documents when visiting RISE NJ dispensaries. Once you receive doctor's approval, you will be placed on the state registry for the medical marijuana program. The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission approved 13 applications for conversion of medical marijuana to sale for adult use, filed by seven different alternative treatment center operators. In the long term, CRC will eventually begin to allow its new medical marijuana dispensaries, which are not yet open, to be sold to recreational customers.
Caregivers must be at least 18 years of age, be residents of New Jersey, and agree to help a qualified patient with the medical use of marijuana. As long as you have your medical card, or you are at least 21 years old, you can go to any authorized dispensary and buy medical cannabis. If you are going to stay longer than six months, you must apply for a medical marijuana card as a regular resident. With a team of professionals on hand to help you through the process, you'll quickly see why Elevate Holistics is the obvious choice for going through Missouri's medical marijuana licensing system.
Phil Murphy signed A 20, also known as Jake's Law, named after Jake Honig, a pediatric patient who used medical marijuana while fighting cancer. The short answer is “yes, but the rules regarding medical marijuana cards from another state in New Jersey are complex. You'll likely see that at least one other medical marijuana operator, Ayr Wellness, which owns three Garden State Dispensary locations in Woodbridge, Union and Eatontown, gains approval for recreational sales, but it still needs to have its conversion requests approved by the CRC. Even though New Jersey has legalized marijuana for recreational use, getting a medical card can help you save money on cannabis products and buy large quantities.
To see if you qualify for a medical marijuana card, visit the New Jersey Department of Health website for the rest of the approved conditions. Qualified patients and caregivers can purchase medical marijuana at Alternative Treatment Centers (ATC), as long as patients have a doctor's recommendation. While some cities and municipalities have banned cannabis-related businesses, medical marijuana is legal throughout the state. The patient will need to obtain certification from a doctor specializing in medical marijuana, and then the caregiver will complete the rest of the process to obtain the card.
Always consult your primary care doctor or other healthcare provider before using medical marijuana products to treat a medical condition. . .